Miss Pinabacdao titlist won Mutya Han Samar 2003

August 10, 2003

CATBALOGAN, Samar, Philippines      -    Miss Zare Ann M. Esparaguera of Pinabacdao, Samar got the title of Mutya Han Samar 2003 during the pageant held last August 9, 2003 at the Samar Provincial Gymnasium, Catbalogan, Samar highlighting the 7th Samar Day Celebration. 

Miss Esparaguera was candidate no.10 among the 16 candidates vying for the Mutya han Samar 2003 title.  She is the daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Aurelio Esparaguera and presently studying at the Saint Paulís Business School in Tacloban City.  She was Mutya ng Pinabacdao 2001 and 1st Runner-up of Miss Saint Paulís Business School.  Aside from being crowned Mutya Han Samar 2003 which entitled her for a trophy and a cash prize of P10,000.00,  she was also adjudge as Best in Gown in the minor awards category.

The pageant started with the entrance of the candidates in their respective festival costume attire which portrays Samarís rich in festival tradition.  Main hosts of the night were Meldring B. Valles and Sylvia C. Serfino.  Pop Gomez Olay and Arvi Villarin serve as segment hosts during the question and answer portion.

Miss Janice L. IbaŮez, candidate no.5 of Calbiga, Samar was awarded 1st Runner-up and received trophy and a cash prize of P6,000.00.  She also won the Best in Swimsuit in the minor awards category.

2nd Runner-up was awarded to Miss Katherine Fructuoso Jao, candidate no.6 of Catbalogan, Samar and received a cash prize of P5,000.00 and a trophy.  She also won the Best in Production Outfit in the minor awards category and Miss Avon Girl in the special awards.

Miss Ma. Jonna D. Cruz, candidate no.2 of Basey, Samar was 3rd Runner-up while Miss Belinda Amor Correche Reyes, candidate no.8 of Gandara, Samar was proclaimed 4th Runner-up and received cash prizes of P4,000.00 and P3,000.00 respectively.  Miss Reyes won the special award of Miss Texters Choice sponsored by Smart Communications and received one brand new unit cellphone and a gift certificate.

Other winners in the minor awards category were Miss Carla T. Pecoro, candidate no.15 of Villareal, Samar for Best in Talent; Miss Delma B. Solayao, candidate no.14 of Talalora, Samar for Miss Friendship; and Miss Julie Ann J. Donaire of Zumarraga, Samar for Miss Photogenic.     Both minor and special award winners received an additional cash prize of P2,000.00 each.  All non-winners were given a cash gift of P1,500.00 each.

The 5-member panel of judges were composed of Dir. Isabela L. Mahler, regional director of Commission on Higher Education (CHED); Dir. Karina Rosa S. Tiopes, regional director of Philippine Information Agency (PIA); Mr. Antonio G. Cinco Jr. of the Leyte Provincial Tourism Council; Capt. Wilfredo M. Villahermosa of the Philippine Army; and Ms. Sally Mate, provincial director of the Department of Trade and Industry (DTI-Samar).

Samar Governor Hon. Milagros T. Tan together with some local officials of the province was also present during the pageant night.  Governor Tan gave the scepter and pinned the crown to Mutya Han Samar 2003 winner assisted by Sta. Margarita Mayor Hon. Ponciano Alegria Jr. while the sash, bouquet and trophy was given by Calbiga Mayor Hon. Melchor Nacario.

click here for details in picture gallery | home