The latest news in Eastern Visayas region

Follow samarnews on Twitter

more news...

Pintados-Kasadyaan festival tradition lives on

Sen. Pia: After 1 year of debates, RH Bill hurdles period of interpellation, moves on to amendments

DENR receives 128k signatures vs Romblon mining

OVP laments Roxas mayor’s refusal to grant usual courtesies for VP Binay

CJ applicants now required to submit waiver on bank accounts, SALN, ITR – Chiz

Kidney Month 2012 highlights awareness and prevention of kidney diseases

BIDS conducted at PRO 8

DENR, PNP & 8ID partnership vs. illegal logging in East Visayas yields positive results







DAR installs 17 officials in Eastern Visayas

By Philippine Information Agency (PIA 8)
June 8, 2012

TACLOBAN CITY  –  Pursuant to Special Orders 144 and 232 issued by Agrarian Reform Secretary Virgilio delos Reyes, seventeen (17) reassigned and newly designated officials were installed in the different DAR offices in Eastern Visayas.

The implementation of said Special Orders was capped with Regional Director Eliasem Castillo of the Department of Agrarian Reform (DAR) Region 8 formally installing on Thursday, May 31, Lawyer Sheila Enciso, former Leyte Provincial Agrarian Reform Officer (PARO) Oscar Reloj and Chief Agrarian Reform Program Officer (CARPO) Melecia Ong to their new posts as the Regional Agrarian Reform Adjudicator (RARAD), Assistant Regional Director for Administration (ARDA) and chief of the Operations Division all at the regional office here, respectively.

Other officials mentioned in the two special orders and their assignments are: Atty. Nellie Canillas Dulfo as Provincial Agrarian Reform Adjudicator for Northern Samar; Ismael Aya-ay as PARO-II, Biliran; Elisea Orapa as PARO-II, Southern Leyte; Pax Rojas as PARO-II, Samar; Leovigildo Monge as PARO-II, Leyte; Ramon Castroverde as PARO-I, Southern Leyte; and Leonora Asaldo as Chief, Operations Division, Biliran.

The other newly installed officials were Noel Salloman as Chief, Beneficiaries Development Coordinating Division, Biliran; Danilo Lozada as Chief, Administrative Division, Southern Leyte; Francisco Diloy as Chief, Beneficiaries Development Coordinating Division, Leyte; Rosemarie Balanquit as Chief, Administrative Division, Northern Samar; Jose Balberde as Chief, Beneficiaries Development Coordinating Division, Northern Samar; Tomas Martinez as Chief, Operations Division, Leyte; and Atty. Bryan Lassiter as Chief, Legal Division, Eastern Samar.

They were earlier recommended by the Regional Director to take the said posts as he believed them to be the best in their fields.

Director Castillo expressed optimism that implementation of the Comprehensive Agrarian Reform Program (CARP) particularly in the acquisition and distribution of the remaining 66,000 hectares of agricultural lands in the region will be accelerated now that “we have put the right persons in the right posts.”

The movements in the DAR Eastern Visayas came as a result of the retirement of RARAD Wilfredo Navarra, ARDA Antonio Tan, PAROs Venerio Yap of Biliran and Gregorio Fiel Jr. of Samar and DAR-Biliran Operations Division Chief Violeta Abad from government service, Mr. Soria informed.